Recovery day today. It’s grey outside but cosy in. My head is on a bit of a trip, all intermittent migraine light flashes and surging nose bridge fizz, as cranial nerve networks I was unaware were hooked up – teeth too? Awe, c’mon! – are jamming the switchboards.

In the face of this – ahem – I’m supine on the sofa, books, devices and such to hand. This moment, I’m undertaking further research into the music of Mulatu Astatke, hailing from Ethiopia, recording in the 1960s and 70s. I heard the  track below on an ‘African Funk’ compilation and it just stood out a mile for me.

It evokes Monday Matinee days off school, watching 1930s Hollywood fetishising the Casbah maybe, with added padding down spacecraft corridors. That’s just the dream bits I recall. The title means, it says here, ‘my own memory’, which currently is filtered through those circuitry issues and sticky tape across my face. Bear with the slightly dizzy dad dancing.

Mulatu Astatke – Yegelle Tezeta

