Today I received an alert from WordPress congratulating me on having signed up with the platform seven years ago.

image

Pop! Zwing! Trumpets! [FX: the sound of ‘Fiesta’ by The Pogues]

OK, I am being a little sarky there. But it’s a fair chunk of time, not what one would call a dalliance. It’s been a busy period.

Seven’s a busy number. While there may be no truth to the story that the human body has fully renewed all its cells every seven years, making us a ‘new person’, we’ve got a bunch of other affinities with the digit. Days of the week, Deadly Sins, Basic Plots, Steiner’s developmental stages, Ages of Man, Sages (of the Bamboo Grove), years after which relationships develop an itch, hills of Rome, Wonders of the World, Classical planets, revelatory Seals, Sisters in the stars (Pleiades), chakras… plus stock market fluctuations, religious significance, gematric/numerological symbolism…

If man is five,
then the devil is six…
and if the devil is six
then GOD is seven…

Which is of course Monkey Gone To Heaven by Pixies, and if you check out the genius page for the song, you’ll find Frank Black’s somewhat dry comments that give us this post’s title.

Black Francis glosses a little, though, maybe. There’s something about the number. There’s something about all the numbers, obviously, if you’re looking for it, but seven seems attached particularly to groups, cycles and changes.

This seventh year I have begun writing and blogging a lot more frequently than I have previously. And, in a neat coincidink/sync event, I got my Power of Seven blogging award and was contemplating this change in method at the same time I encountered the song below.

So, while I go off and basic plot a ‘seven’ themed playlist (Pixies, Iron Maiden, Madness, Prince, Culture, The Clash, The Shins, for seven starters), here is a just fantastic version of Black Sabbath’s Changes, by Charles Bradley, with which I fell in love today.

“Times 111…”

