The weather has been full of drear this weekend, with the latest anthropomorphized storm (Imogen) making unwelcome overtures at the UK, and grey mornings turning to cold and windy middays followed by sodden evenings.
It’s keeping me out of the garden, and I’m somewhat fucking grumpy about it.

We took advantage of a break in the fronts to wander across to Starbeck, where the daffodils have been fooled into emerging early:

image

Deepening the mood of impending global catastrophe, we then passed the McColl inconvenience store, which sported this poster in the window:

image

Uncle Ben’s, Dolmio, Haagen Dazs and I heart wines… two products owned by Mars, all total tat. It’s a small world after all.

The downward spiral accelerated as we ambled round the corner to the park, and I was distracted by branded litter every three paces. I took a load of pictures, but it was the depressing end of photojournalism. This is not even rhetoric, by the way – it was, actually, every three paces.

image

HSBC-Mars twofer

image

image

Plus KFC, B&H, random boxes, more Mars products… I mean, I know it’s not these companies that are coming round and befouling our green spaces, but it was putting me in a very premillennial anti-brand, anti-humanity, anti-everything funk.

The eat-junk-become-junk misery continued at the supermarket:

image

And, AND, packs of pre-made pancakes! Piles of them!

Bah!

We picked up our bottle of I heart red wine and skedaddled quick smart, off through the rain.

Fortunately, an hour or two colouring with the three year old before luncheon sorted it all out. And the wine, obviously.

image

Not the right colours… Take THAT, The Man.

