When the world and I were young – just this morning – I heard that the songwriter Gerry Goffin had died. This was, in one of life’s funny little correspondences, only a week or so after I saw an intriguing documentary about his former writing partner and former wife Carole King.

Gerry Goffin wrote the lyrics to many of late 20th century pop music’s most enduring tunes: Will You Love Me Tomorrow, Who Put the Bomp (in the Bomp, Bomp, Bomp), He’s In Town, Up On The Roof, Saving All My Love For You, (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman… Perusing a list of songs he wrote is quite an eye-opener – Glenn Medeiros, indeed!

Anyway, I had cause to be in the car this afternoon and enjoyed a very loud tribute, consisting of repeated listens to my personal favourite, this genius social commentary and guitars number, from 1966 – Pleasant Valley Sunday by The Monkees.

Every single time. Mr Goffin, many thanks!

