23 March: Today is the anniversary of the death (in 1931) of Bhagat Singh, an Indian revolutionary.

I discovered this through twitter and the keeps-on-giving interweb… There is so much history in the world one might never uncover it all. I’m always grateful for new stories about interesting people.

I am also in agreement with Singh’s definition of anarchy:

“The ultimate goal of Anarchism is complete independence, according to which no one will be obsessed with God or religion, nor will anybody be crazy for money or other worldly desires. There will be no chains on the body or control by the state. This means that they want to eliminate: the Church, God and Religion; the state; Private property.”

Perhaps one day… hope springs eternal.

NB: The tiny photo used here is from the Singh family-run info website shahidbhagatsingh.org – I didn’t ask if I could use it, so sorry about that, but I wanted to use an actual photo rather than one of the often fanciful artist’s impressions floating about. Hopefully shahidbhagatsingh.org will get a few extra views at least.

Anyway, a tip of the hat to Bhagat Singh.

